Choose a location to review

May Lightfoot, PLLC locations:

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Platinum is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 10 reviews, with an average score of 4.5 or higher.

Local Ratings & Reviews (55)

Overall Average Rating

Overall Reviews

5.0/5.0
Site Rating Reviews by date
lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2021-06-15

SEE all the above! Very Qualified! They were very helpful in my case and I am appreciative of the services.

— Client 06/15/2021

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2021-01-26

I NEED LAW FORM ASSISTANCE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE CONCERNING MY CIVIL RIGHTS AND OTHER MATTERS AS WELL THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS

— Client 01/26/2021

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-25

After suffering an accident at work, I sought legal counsel to determine what rights I had in seeking treatment for my injury. After the more familiar names in injury law refused to help me, I found William J. Lightfoot, who was very willing to help me. Mr. Lightfoot quickly advised me of my options and provided step by step help in securing worker's compensation to cover all medical expenses related to the accident. I had no idea how to navigate the worker's compensation process in DC, but William was very knowledgeable. Specifically, he helped me secure physical therapy until I had reached the maximum level of utility. After that, he worked to secure a settlement for my injury that was agreed to by all parties. William always responded to my messages in a timely manner and made me feel like an important client and not just another case. Throughout the process, William was able to achieve the most favorable outcome every step of the way.

— Client 10/25/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-09-25 20:23:15

Excellent, professional attorneys in the Washington D.C. metro. Mr. Lightfoot took me on as a client 2 years ago and I have been very happy with the results he has brought to the table. Diligent in researching and execution of all paperwork and assistance with finding the best medical professionals to help me begin the process of feeling healthy again. He has very strong courtroom presence and leaps the judicial hurdles with a passion like no other. He WILL work hard and tirelessly for you. I highly recommend Will Lightfoot and his team of sharp individuals to assist you if you’ve been injured on the job. I will always be amazed at the lengths he went to complete my case and am very grateful to have him as my Attorney. Thank you Mr. Lightfoot. You are the best!

— David 09/25/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-31

I contacted LaRuby May after being served with a court case from the D.C. Superior Court. I was unaware that a tax lien was assessed on one of the lots of land on which my home sits. And the lot was sold at tax sale. I needed to get my property fully redeemed and resolve the law suit from the attorneys suing for their fees. LaRuby May informed me that she no longer practiced real estate law. Instead, she referred me to a Title Company that could help me. And they were very helpful. I appreciate LaRuby may following through and making the referral including name and phone number. The referral was excellent. I received good information and guidance on how to proceed to resolve my tax lien issue and how to follow through to address the legal case. LaRuby May dd not charge me for the referral.

— Client 07/31/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-25

I am thoroughly impressed with Attorney's May's extraordinary knowledge of the law and her ability to translate the particulars of the law in terms that I understand. Not only is her deliverance logical and explicit, Attorney May is also extremely compassionate, warm, fair and genuine, which are paramount trustworthy characteristics. I trust her. I respect her and I will recommend her services to everyone in need. She is a remarkable person, attorney and consummate professional!!

— Client 07/25/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

I sought representation after Workmen’s Comp informed me they will no longer pay for future medical for a work related foot injury. I was represented in a former personal injury case by William P. Lightfoot. From the beginning, Mr. Lightfoot instructed me to file documents with DC Employment Services that required filing within one year after the injury. It was my understanding, if the papers weren’t filed workmen’s comp could cancel my claim. For personal injury claims I highly recommend, William J. Lightfoot, he is educated on Workmen’s Comp procedures and will ensure you understand every step. He’s a nice guy!

— Client 06/09/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 09:01:17

I have worked with and mentored 100s of attorneys over the past 47 years, including teaching extended NITA courses, ethics programs, CLE substantive seminars, and serving as our law firm’s CEO and Health Law/Professional Liability Practice Group chair. As a member of the practice group, Ms. Kitchel and I tried substantial potential liability cases to favorable verdicts. Ms. Kitchel is easily among the the best-of-the-best and eminently qualified for, and deserving of, your preeminent AV rating.

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:53:46

No description provided

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:53:05

No description provided

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:52:12

No description provided

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 15:09:53

I would go to Allyson to represent me if I had a personal injury case.

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 15:08:24

Allyson is a powerful advocate that I would dread seeing as opposing counsel.

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 12:57:38

Allyson is a dedicated attorney who is thorough and a great listener.

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 12:48:53

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:35:43

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:34:51

I called Ms. Kitchel when I encountered workplace discrimination. Her counsel was both professional and on point. I would not hesitate to refer clients to her on employment matters.

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:31:44

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:31:06

I have known Ms. Kitchel in both a professional and personal capacity for more than a dozen years. As an attorney myself, she was the first person I called following a car accident last year. Her responsiveness, professionalism and expertise were critical to my understanding of the situation.

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:26:21

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-26 08:31:23

Allyson Kitchel is an extraordinary lawyer who is highly knowledgeable and skilled in many areas of the law. I would recommend her heartily.

— Peer 05/26/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-26 06:53:57

No description provided

— Peer 05/26/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-13

I’ve known Bill Lightfoot for many years as a colleague and have been consistently impressed over the years with his command of the law in its current application, his attention to detail and the rigorous advocacy he deploys to obtain justice for his clients. I’m certain these characteristics serve his clients well in achieving excellent results in settlements and verdicts on their behalves.

— Client 05/13/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-05

I have known Je Yon for 20 years and can say without hesitation that she is unrivaled in her passion and compassion, her diligence and commitment.

— Client 05/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-23

Working with Ms. May and her firm has been one of the most best decisions I could have ever made. She is very responsive and attentive to detail. She communicates with me throughout the entire process. Her knowledge of the law is immeasurable. She has been a valuable asset to our company. I highly recommend Ms. May and firm to everyone looking for outstanding legal counsel.

— Client 04/23/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-27 19:16:31

May Lightfoot has some of the brightest minds in the business! I myself have enjoyed our partnership. They put clients first and give maximum effort that produce results!

— Matt and Laura Workman 03/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-19

She is very well versed and knowledgable and teaches you about things you do not understand pertaining to law. I would most definitely recommend Ms. Laruby Z. May!

— Client 03/19/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-16

Working with this lawyer was a great experience for me. This law firm work with my schedule. I had to work overtime and the Lawyer accommodated my personal situation and waited for me to get off work, to do a full intake. I didn't get off work until 8:30pm and they waited and provided me with a meal. Now this is what i call, meeting clients where they are. I would do business with them any day and thanks again for dinner.

— Client 03/16/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

It was a honor to have the opportunity to work with the May Firm. The office was family friendly. I had my grandchildren with me at the time of my intake and the staff was so attentive to my grandkids, they offered to buy lunch for my grandkids and I. The May Firm is a blessing to the Constituents East Of The River(EOTR). The first Law Firm in Ward 8. Thank you.

— Client 03/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

LaRuby May and the May Lightfoot, PLLC firm provide excellent and attentive advice, customer service and representation. It is very rare to find a law firm that listens first and then executes flawlessly. I highly recommend the May Lightfoot, PLLC firm.

— Client 03/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

Responsive customer service, excellent communication and follow up. The firm was open to explaining issues as they arose.

— Client 03/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-11-07

I found Ms May to be extremely courteous, knowledgeable, patient and efficient. She's been exceptional handling my affairs and offering advice. Thank you very much.

— Client 11/07/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-10-09

Mr. William J. Lightfoot, Jr. is a young, hardly intelligent, competent and promising attorney who has an impressive understanding of the law and applies it with due diligence and prudence. He did a terrible job in helping me win my case with a monetary award that exceeded my expectations.

— Client 10/09/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-21

My first complimentary discussion was over the phone and for a lengthy period of time. There was no feeling of being hurried off the phone. My first visit was also longer than the usual hour and I did not feel rushed to leave. I was given a generous amount of time to decide whether I wanted a lawyer for my issue. William kept in touch with me, no pressure to hire, kept answering my questions and understanding my worries. The patience he showed and the knowledge he has, is why I went with him.

— Client 03/21/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-16

After sustaining an injury (torn acl, multiple meniscus tears, missing teeth) at work due to a fall and not receiving adequate answers, I sought an attorney. Selecting Mr. William J. Lightfoot was the best decision ever!!! If you are looking for an attorney who is experienced, responsive, knowledgeable, courteous and competent choose Mr. William J. Lightfoot.

— Client 03/16/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-02-15

No description provided

— Client 02/15/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-25

It’s been a pleasure working with you

— Client 01/25/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-12-05

I find in Mr. Lightfoot, he upholds the core principles of the organization. He demonstrates personal and professional integrity and has shown flexibility. Thank you for being there when I needed representation.

— Client 12/05/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-28

Mr. Lightfoot was great. He handled my son case expeditiously. It was a pleasure working with him. I plan to use in any future endeavors. I strongly recommend Mr. Lightfoot.

— Client 11/28/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-27

I met Mr Lightfoot off the humble to represent my son in a case from his previous lawyer. He was very respectful and knowledgeable and closed my son case in weeks time. I will alway be grateful and will continue to use him as needed

— Client 11/27/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-21

No description provided

— Client 11/21/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-13

Mr.Lightfoot was a great attorney to have he is responsible, responsive and wants the best for his clients i appreciate him so much

— Client 11/13/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-15

Bill Lightfoot and Kelly Fisher represented my husband and I after we lost our 1 year old son Stokely due to daycare negligence. They were very attentive and caring during the entire process. They fully and clearly explained each step. After we suffered such a tremendous loss, it was comforting to know we had a team of professionals looking out for our interests and caring about us as people. We highly recommend Bill and Kelly!

— Client 10/15/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-21

Keep up the good work. Thank You.

— Client 09/21/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-25 13:53:03

Bill Lightfoot and Kelly Fisher represented my husband and I after we lost our 1 year old son Stokely due to daycare negligence. They were very attentive and caring during the entire process. They fully and clearly explained each step. After we suffered such a tremendous loss, it was comforting to know we had a team of professionals looking out for our interests and caring about us as people. We highly recommend Bill and Kelly!

— Mari Andrews 08/25/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-03-15 02:14:04

March 24th 2016 I was hit by a Metro bus I luckily survived but with terrible injuries. William Lightfoot represented me on my case. I honestly have nothing but positive words about my experience with him and his firm. Not only is he a GREAT attorney he is genuinely a good person . I felt like he cared more about my justice, security, and well being then of his own personal gain from a high profile case like mine. He impressed me with his professionalism and whit. Even though I was unlucky enough to be hit by a bus, I was lucky that it brought amazing people like Mr. Lightfoot ,Paulette, and Kelly into my life. I could never thank them enough for all they have done for me.

— Tina Glennie 03/15/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-21

Mr. Lightfoot has provided superb legal counsel and legal representation to me and to members of my family. He is knowledgeable, patient, responsive and of the highest integrity. His ability to think outside the box is incredible. In a nutshell, I have found Mr. Lightfoot to be an attorney dedicated to his clients and of the school of “failure is not an option” philosophy. Thank you Mr. Lightfoot!

— Client 02/21/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-21

Mr. Lightfoot has represented my family for years and has demonstrated a superior understanding of the law and the litigation process. He responds to calls in a timely fashion and welcomes questions as client satisfaction is very important to him. His representation is 5 star and I recommend him without reservation.

— Client 02/21/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-07 17:51:03

Mr. William P. Lightfoot did excellent work for my father. He will be considered in the future for my family and recommended to my friends and family members as well. I would highly recommend Mr. William P. Lightfoot because of his expertise, service and patient with people.

— Cynthia Copeland 02/07/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-10-23 21:03:36

Great lawyer and very attentive. I recommend him to everyone!

— Sophia Santos 10/23/2017

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-11 22:17:16

William P. Lightfoot2001 Pennsylvania Ave NW #450, Washington, DCEdit your review5.02 reviewsSort by:Most helpfulbarbara jonesbarbara jonesin the last week-EditI’ always been please with the services Mr. William P. Lightfoot at Koonz.com who provide legal services for me, I had terrible experiences with attorneys in the past.  When attorney Mr. William P. Lightfoot represented me, he shows me how an attorney supposes to represent his client.  I’m very fortunate to have a trusted, professional, understanding and a dependable attorney. The best part of his service he very passionate about his work meaning you will get the best services. Such a commitment to great customer service is to be commended. You can be sure that I will continue to have Mr. William P. Lightfoot as my attorney. I hope by sharing my expernice will help you decide whom to represent you when you need an attorney such as Mr. William Lightfoot at Koonz.com

— Barbara J. 07/11/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-22 03:41:36

No description provided

— S.N. Santos 04/22/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2016-07-06 00:49:34

My husband and I were very happy to have Mr. Lightfoot represent us. He was meticulously prepared, gave excellent arguments, made us feel as comfortable as one can feel in court and had a good sense of humor as well. He and his staff were very accommodating, answering our calls promptly and over weekends. We recommend him!

— Eka Kapiotis 07/06/2016

lawyers
4.8 / 5.0
2020-06-07 18:27:25

No description provided

— Peer 06/07/2020

lawyers
4.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 13:11:24

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020