Choose a location to review

May Lightfoot, PLLC locations:

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Platinum is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 10 reviews, with an average score of 4.5 or higher.

Local Ratings & Reviews (75)

Overall Average Rating

Overall Reviews

5.0/5.0
Site Rating Reviews by date
google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-14 18:27:53

Edward Miley has been my attorney for several years, he has helped me win cases in business, and in gaining the primary custody of my son. He and his team are amazing and I highly recommend them for any family law issues you may have. His office team is as professional as they get. They always answer my calls and are very prompt with filing motions, paperwork, mailings, etc. He may be expensive but the work he does with his team is worth every dollar spent. Edward Miley keeps it real and honest and always keeps fighting for you to deliver the best possible outcome for your case. I've recommended him to friends and coworkers who have all had good outcomes with Edward Miley. If you are looking for a family attorney he is the only person you should be calling.

— Eddie Ryan 10/14/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-16 16:29:33

Mr. Miley for the win

— David Campbell 07/16/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-02 23:53:47

I don’t even know where to begin. We all know custody battles are mentally and emotionally draining. Not to mention costly. I wish I met Mr. Miley back in 2013 to handle my divorce. 8 years later I revisited the custody part after being told by other attorneys I didn’t have a case. Mr. Miley made it clear I did and that I deserved more. It wasn’t easy. Hardest last 7 months of my life but Mr. Miley fought hard and got me the results I prayed for. His assistant, Ms. Pam was so awesome!!! Her communication skills were amazing. If she didn’t know the answer to my questions she made sure to get back to me. I love that they kept it real with me. No bs’ing around. It’s hard to hear the truth sometimes or things we don’t want to hear. Mr. Miley told me this may happen but it’s my job to not let it happen. He followed through and I’m forever grateful. Thanks to Mr. Miley now I’m able to finally have the peace of mind my daughter and I deserve.

— Silvia Peregrina 06/02/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-16 16:07:05

Mr. Miley is very experienced and knows what to expect during a divorce. That is very good as I do not. He is handling everything very well especially during this pandemic we are having while everything is different. Pam (who I have the most interaction with) is a pleasure to deal with. I am so glad to have The Miley Law Firm representing me during such a such a difficult time.

— Larry Jimenez 04/16/2020

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-01 18:53:29

Mr. Miley helped with my custody. He told me the first time when I went in for consultation that I would win. The fee was fair with no extra charge (one time not like my previous lawyer). He wanted to win the case and knew his job. He recommended me to take the deal which was exactly what I wanted. I am very happy with the result. No more child support and I got primary custody, just the way I was hoping for. Pam, front office, always answered my email promptly. Tom, paralegal, was excellent and very thorough, no mistake at all. If you want to win and don't go break, I highly recommend MIley Law Firm! Thank you guys.

— Fay L. 04/01/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-30 03:54:19

No description provided

— Gracie Aragon 03/30/2020

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-12 07:29:21

Great attorney handled my divorce got me almost everything I needed highly recommend him.

— Debbie K. 03/12/2020

google
5.0 / 5.0
2019-06-26 20:36:29

This law firm helped me tremendously. I ended up in a really nasty Divorce battle that scared the heck out of me. Miley was extremely confident and understood the law (and what protected me) and he put a plan together that got me the exact results he said it would. His office Manager Pam was as professional as they get. She always answered my calls and she was very prompt with whatever needed to be done (filing motion paperwork, mailings, etc). The work this team did was worth every dollar I spent.

— ognewwavy 06/26/2019

google
5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-17 20:48:12

Going to court for divorce is probably one of the hardest things I have ever done. The stress and drama that goes along with court is taxing enough. Never thought I would be writing a review for a lawyer, but the day I hired Mr. Miley everything changed for me. Not only did we win the case, but Mr. Miley lived up to everything he promised me. Thanks again Mr. Miley!

— lee bennett 04/17/2019

google
5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-25 21:58:46

Mr. Miley has handled my child custody case for years and I can always count on him to always do a great job and I trust him. I recommend him without any doubt. He will do a phenomenal job.

— Freddie Mateo jr 03/25/2019

google
3.0 / 5.0
2019-02-26 18:10:21

I met with Miley on two occasions once for a consultation the other to decide if I'd use his service. Miley comes off as a strong attorney that will get you remedy(like most attorneys) which is good bc they want new clients. His staff is friendly & professional when it comes to there client needs. However, I never used Miley Law Firm because at each meeting I felt rushed as if Miley wasn't listening to what I needed achieved but wanted me to pay to get started. That was a problem for me my situation was very complex and needed to be evaluated thourghly to represent me. I didn't see Miley doing that in fact all I saw coming was invoices in the near future from Miley not breaking my case down strategically. If your looking for a attorney that comes off strong and could possibly get you remedy this is your guy!

— Paris Baker 02/26/2019

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-14 18:53:29

Edward Miley and his whole staff were such a pleasure to work with. I was so worried about my family court case, as I'm not experienced in these types of matters whatsoever. I'm happy my friend recommended his office to begin with. I will continue to use his services in the future if I ever were to need them again. Thanks Edward, Pam, Shari and Tom!!! You guys are awesome

— Mimi A. 01/14/2019

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-23 19:48:36

Mr. Miley is a caring and compassionate man who will go out of his way to help his clients in any way possible.

— Stacey Ricker 08/23/2018

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2018-04-04 18:53:29

I've done a fair amount of business with Mr Miley over the last few years and I want to tell you how impressed I am with him. First, whether it's been family or criminal law services I've never been disappointed with the results Mr Miley achieved on my behalf. Second, I have never felt like I was being overcharged by the firm. In fact I have always been made to feel comfortable with the pricing and have never been pressured to make payments like my previous law firm did all the time. Lastly, because I have done business with Mr Miley several times now I am always made to feel welcomed and I truly believe that the firm is invested in making me feel like they are doing they're best to represent me. I can't endorse the Miley law firm more strongly, if you need legal representation this is the firm I recommend every time.

— Alfred N. 04/04/2018

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-26 18:53:29

I had Mr Miley handle a case for me.  He said everything would be fine.  And it was.  He took my case and resolved the issue adroitly. He has compassion and he very supportive throughout the process.

— Joseph L. 02/26/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-24 07:33:56

Very knowledgeable and willing to help. Highly recommend using.

— Robert Sanders 02/24/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-13 00:16:53

No description provided

— Manuel Rios 01/13/2018

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-09-02 19:19:58

Was my lawyer for multiple cases, he kept my hopes up and delivered the best he could; one thing I liked the most was his honesty. Kept everything real. With me he met all my requirements that I pushed for during my case. Used him for miscellaneous other cases also. I've recommended him to multiple coworkers and family members all having good out comes with Miley. Great guy, worth checking out

— Chris Radtke 09/02/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-21 20:13:16

No description provided

— Angelica Gutierrez 07/21/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-21 08:58:09

I used Miley for a tpo hearing, he surpassed my expectations. I have my daughter tonight cause of him. Thank you.

— Christina Schmitz 07/21/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-25 16:18:53

Went through a custody battle with my girlfriend used mr. Miley and he won US everything and more. I would recommend mr. Miley at any time he's a honest hard-working man and he will get you what you want and fight for you. All I can say about mr. Miley he's an outgoing hard-working down-to-earth attorney, if you need any attorney I would go and talk to him he'll tell you the truth and upfront with you.

— Nicholas Mills 05/25/2017

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-20 18:53:29

Very helpful in the free consultation process. I'm definitely considering retaining their services for a family law case.

— Greater J. 04/20/2017

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2017-02-20 18:53:29

It's never easy going through custody matters. When you do it is important to have someone fight for you with everything they have and that won't destroy your pocket book. Mr. Miley is that person. He is fair, reasonably priced and he is a fighter that gives you realistic expectations. I am totally satisfied and would recommend him without hesitation.

— Michele B. 02/20/2017

google
5.0 / 5.0
2017-01-30 17:35:20

No description provided

— Michael Nguyen 01/30/2017

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2016-11-09 18:53:29

I have used Randy and his Firm for over 4 years dealing with divorce, custody issues etc.  They are a GREAT firm to work with.  Randy will tell you like it is and will not tell you what he thinks you want to hear.  Unlike most family law attorneys in this town Randy's goal is to get the most for his clients without wasting the assets on frivolous motions and actions that will not further his client nor aid in an expeditious resolution of a case.  Randy is a rarity in the Las Vegas family law community and I recommend him highly! Eric E.

— Eric E. 11/09/2016

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2016-07-07 18:53:29

Wow!! Mr. Miley was amazing. His office ladies are awesome as well. He more than took care of my citation. I can't thank him enough. In Las Vegas it's hard to find an honest attorney. Well he is more than that as he treats you like a real person. Thank you!

— Michelle H. 07/07/2016

google
5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-28 17:33:15

Ed Miley is a great lawyer to have on your corner. He's very honest, he will fight for you, he will get your results that you want.

— jesus felix 06/28/2016

yelp
5.0 / 5.0
2015-03-25 18:53:29

They made a difficult situation (divorce) easier to deal with. All of the staff are polite and professional.

— Marie M. 03/25/2015

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:31:06

I have known Ms. Kitchel in both a professional and personal capacity for more than a dozen years. As an attorney myself, she was the first person I called following a car accident last year. Her responsiveness, professionalism and expertise were critical to my understanding of the situation.

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 12:57:38

Allyson is a dedicated attorney who is thorough and a great listener.

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 09:01:17

I have worked with and mentored 100s of attorneys over the past 47 years, including teaching extended NITA courses, ethics programs, CLE substantive seminars, and serving as our law firm’s CEO and Health Law/Professional Liability Practice Group chair. As a member of the practice group, Ms. Kitchel and I tried substantial potential liability cases to favorable verdicts. Ms. Kitchel is easily among the the best-of-the-best and eminently qualified for, and deserving of, your preeminent AV rating.

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 08:59:17

I have worked with and mentored 100s of attorneys over the past 47 years, including teaching extended NITA courses, ethics programs, CLE substantive seminars, and serving as our law firm’s CEO and Health Law/Professional Liability Practice Group chair. As a member of the practice group, Ms. Kitchel and I tried substantial potential liability cases to favorable verdicts. Ms. Kitchel is easily among the the best-of-the-best and eminently qualified for, and deserving of, your preeminent AV rating.

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 08:58:17

I have worked with and mentored 100s of attorneys over the past 47 years, including teaching extended NITA courses, ethics programs, CLE substantive seminars, and serving as our law firm’s CEO and Health Law/Professional Liability Practice Group chair. As a member of the practice group, Ms. Kitchel and I tried substantial potential liability cases to favorable verdicts. Ms. Kitchel is easily among the the best-of-the-best and eminently qualified for, and deserving of, your preeminent AV rating.

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 08:56:43

I have worked with and mentored 100s of attorneys over the past 47 years, including teaching extended NITA courses, ethics programs, CLE substantive seminars, and serving as our law firm’s CEO and Health Law/Professional Liability Practice Group chair. As a member of the practice group, Ms. Kitchel and I tried substantial potential liability cases to favorable verdicts. Ms. Kitchel is easily among the the best-of-the-best and eminently qualified for, and deserving of, your preeminent AV rating.

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:53:46

No description provided

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:53:05

No description provided

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:52:12

No description provided

— Peer 06/08/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 15:09:53

I would go to Allyson to represent me if I had a personal injury case.

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 15:08:24

Allyson is a powerful advocate that I would dread seeing as opposing counsel.

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 12:48:53

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:35:43

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:34:51

I called Ms. Kitchel when I encountered workplace discrimination. Her counsel was both professional and on point. I would not hesitate to refer clients to her on employment matters.

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:31:44

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-27 10:26:21

No description provided

— Peer 05/27/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-26 08:31:23

Allyson Kitchel is an extraordinary lawyer who is highly knowledgeable and skilled in many areas of the law. I would recommend her heartily.

— Peer 05/26/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-26 06:53:57

No description provided

— Peer 05/26/2020

lawyers
4.8 / 5.0
2020-06-07 18:27:25

No description provided

— Peer 06/07/2020

lawyers
4.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 13:11:24

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-10-25

After suffering an accident at work, I sought legal counsel to determine what rights I had in seeking treatment for my injury. After the more familiar names in injury law refused to help me, I found William J. Lightfoot, who was very willing to help me. Mr. Lightfoot quickly advised me of my options and provided step by step help in securing worker's compensation to cover all medical expenses related to the accident. I had no idea how to navigate the worker's compensation process in DC, but William was very knowledgeable. Specifically, he helped me secure physical therapy until I had reached the maximum level of utility. After that, he worked to secure a settlement for my injury that was agreed to by all parties. William always responded to my messages in a timely manner and made me feel like an important client and not just another case. Throughout the process, William was able to achieve the most favorable outcome every step of the way.

— Client 10/25/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-31

I contacted LaRuby May after being served with a court case from the D.C. Superior Court. I was unaware that a tax lien was assessed on one of the lots of land on which my home sits. And the lot was sold at tax sale. I needed to get my property fully redeemed and resolve the law suit from the attorneys suing for their fees. LaRuby May informed me that she no longer practiced real estate law. Instead, she referred me to a Title Company that could help me. And they were very helpful. I appreciate LaRuby may following through and making the referral including name and phone number. The referral was excellent. I received good information and guidance on how to proceed to resolve my tax lien issue and how to follow through to address the legal case. LaRuby May dd not charge me for the referral.

— Client 07/31/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-25

I am thoroughly impressed with Attorney's May's extraordinary knowledge of the law and her ability to translate the particulars of the law in terms that I understand. Not only is her deliverance logical and explicit, Attorney May is also extremely compassionate, warm, fair and genuine, which are paramount trustworthy characteristics. I trust her. I respect her and I will recommend her services to everyone in need. She is a remarkable person, attorney and consummate professional!!

— Client 07/25/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

I sought representation after Workmen’s Comp informed me they will no longer pay for future medical for a work related foot injury. I was represented in a former personal injury case by William P. Lightfoot. From the beginning, Mr. Lightfoot instructed me to file documents with DC Employment Services that required filing within one year after the injury. It was my understanding, if the papers weren’t filed workmen’s comp could cancel my claim. For personal injury claims I highly recommend, William J. Lightfoot, he is educated on Workmen’s Comp procedures and will ensure you understand every step. He’s a nice guy!

— Client 06/09/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-13

I’ve known Bill Lightfoot for many years as a colleague and have been consistently impressed over the years with his command of the law in its current application, his attention to detail and the rigorous advocacy he deploys to obtain justice for his clients. I’m certain these characteristics serve his clients well in achieving excellent results in settlements and verdicts on their behalves.

— Client 05/13/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-05

I have known Je Yon for 20 years and can say without hesitation that she is unrivaled in her passion and compassion, her diligence and commitment.

— Client 05/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-23

Working with Ms. May and her firm has been one of the most best decisions I could have ever made. She is very responsive and attentive to detail. She communicates with me throughout the entire process. Her knowledge of the law is immeasurable. She has been a valuable asset to our company. I highly recommend Ms. May and firm to everyone looking for outstanding legal counsel.

— Client 04/23/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-19

She is very well versed and knowledgable and teaches you about things you do not understand pertaining to law. I would most definitely recommend Ms. Laruby Z. May!

— Client 03/19/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-16

Working with this lawyer was a great experience for me. This law firm work with my schedule. I had to work overtime and the Lawyer accommodated my personal situation and waited for me to get off work, to do a full intake. I didn't get off work until 8:30pm and they waited and provided me with a meal. Now this is what i call, meeting clients where they are. I would do business with them any day and thanks again for dinner.

— Client 03/16/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

LaRuby May and the May Lightfoot, PLLC firm provide excellent and attentive advice, customer service and representation. It is very rare to find a law firm that listens first and then executes flawlessly. I highly recommend the May Lightfoot, PLLC firm.

— Client 03/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

It was a honor to have the opportunity to work with the May Firm. The office was family friendly. I had my grandchildren with me at the time of my intake and the staff was so attentive to my grandkids, they offered to buy lunch for my grandkids and I. The May Firm is a blessing to the Constituents East Of The River(EOTR). The first Law Firm in Ward 8. Thank you.

— Client 03/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-05

Responsive customer service, excellent communication and follow up. The firm was open to explaining issues as they arose.

— Client 03/05/2020

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-11-07

I found Ms May to be extremely courteous, knowledgeable, patient and efficient. She's been exceptional handling my affairs and offering advice. Thank you very much.

— Client 11/07/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-10-09

Mr. William J. Lightfoot, Jr. is a young, hardly intelligent, competent and promising attorney who has an impressive understanding of the law and applies it with due diligence and prudence. He did a terrible job in helping me win my case with a monetary award that exceeded my expectations.

— Client 10/09/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-21

My first complimentary discussion was over the phone and for a lengthy period of time. There was no feeling of being hurried off the phone. My first visit was also longer than the usual hour and I did not feel rushed to leave. I was given a generous amount of time to decide whether I wanted a lawyer for my issue. William kept in touch with me, no pressure to hire, kept answering my questions and understanding my worries. The patience he showed and the knowledge he has, is why I went with him.

— Client 03/21/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-16

After sustaining an injury (torn acl, multiple meniscus tears, missing teeth) at work due to a fall and not receiving adequate answers, I sought an attorney. Selecting Mr. William J. Lightfoot was the best decision ever!!! If you are looking for an attorney who is experienced, responsive, knowledgeable, courteous and competent choose Mr. William J. Lightfoot.

— Client 03/16/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-02-15

No description provided

— Client 02/15/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-25

It’s been a pleasure working with you

— Client 01/25/2019

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-12-05

I find in Mr. Lightfoot, he upholds the core principles of the organization. He demonstrates personal and professional integrity and has shown flexibility. Thank you for being there when I needed representation.

— Client 12/05/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-28

Mr. Lightfoot was great. He handled my son case expeditiously. It was a pleasure working with him. I plan to use in any future endeavors. I strongly recommend Mr. Lightfoot.

— Client 11/28/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-27

I met Mr Lightfoot off the humble to represent my son in a case from his previous lawyer. He was very respectful and knowledgeable and closed my son case in weeks time. I will alway be grateful and will continue to use him as needed

— Client 11/27/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-21

No description provided

— Client 11/21/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-13

Mr.Lightfoot was a great attorney to have he is responsible, responsive and wants the best for his clients i appreciate him so much

— Client 11/13/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-15

Bill Lightfoot and Kelly Fisher represented my husband and I after we lost our 1 year old son Stokely due to daycare negligence. They were very attentive and caring during the entire process. They fully and clearly explained each step. After we suffered such a tremendous loss, it was comforting to know we had a team of professionals looking out for our interests and caring about us as people. We highly recommend Bill and Kelly!

— Client 10/15/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-21

Keep up the good work. Thank You.

— Client 09/21/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-21

Mr. Lightfoot has represented my family for years and has demonstrated a superior understanding of the law and the litigation process. He responds to calls in a timely fashion and welcomes questions as client satisfaction is very important to him. His representation is 5 star and I recommend him without reservation.

— Client 02/21/2018

lawyers
5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-21

Mr. Lightfoot has provided superb legal counsel and legal representation to me and to members of my family. He is knowledgeable, patient, responsive and of the highest integrity. His ability to think outside the box is incredible. In a nutshell, I have found Mr. Lightfoot to be an attorney dedicated to his clients and of the school of “failure is not an option” philosophy. Thank you Mr. Lightfoot!

— Client 02/21/2018